All-Africa Games chess event history

All Africa Games logoThe All-Africa games are held every four year and have 50 year of history, yet chess joined as late as in 2003. The chess tournament is active time control event, but since there is no continental team championship anymore the winners earn spot in the following World Team Championship. With most of top continent's players battling for gold Egypt won both men's contests in 2003 and 2007, while Algeria took both women's titles meanwhile. Other medal winners were South Africa (men & women), Nigeria (women), Algeria and Zambia (men).
See also history of African Team Championship

Winners - men: 3x Egypt
Winners - women: 2x Algeria, 1x Egypt



men  ::  women

missing data