Gulf Cooperation Council Team Chess Championship history

GCC flagThe Cooperation Council of the Arab States of the Gulf formerly named and still commonly called Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) is a regional organization created in 1981 involving the six Persian Gulf Arab States: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. It has many economic and social objectives in mind:
- Formulating similar regulations in various fields such as legislation, economy, finance, trade etc.,
- Fostering scientific and technical progress,
- Strengthening sociel ties,
- Establishing a common currency by 2010.

The first edition of GCC Team Championship took place in 2005 in Kuwait, a relatively inactive chess nation among those from around Persian Gulf. Four of six GCC member nations arrived. Qatar won in a great style. The second GCC Championship took place on the next year in Bahrain, drawing exactly the same pool of teams as in 2005, moreover with the same final results. Unlike in 2005 Qatar and UAE were struggling for a win until the very next round. The UAE scored historic win over Qatar on day four, but all in all came second.




missing data