Arab League history

Arab Chess Federation logo The idea was conceived around year 2000, when members of the Arab Chess Federation became aware of the need of
Arab Chess Federation
ACF was established in 1975 in Damascus, Syria. It is managed by the Executive Council of 5 to 9 members from different countries, aside with Secretary General and his Assistant. It is currently headed by Emirati Ibrahim Al-Bannai. Members (founding nations marked with an asterisk): Morocco, Mauritania, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Sudan, Egypt*, Somalia, Lebanon*, Syria*, Jordan*, Palestine, Yemen, United Arab Emirates*, Bahrain, Iraq, Kuwait*, Qatar. Two other founders Oman and Saudi Arabia later withdrew.
settling an annual club event for Arab Teams. It was decided that national team champions from Arab states have right to participate. The event is sometimes called the Arab Champions League or the Arab Chess Club Championship. The format is usually nine round Swiss unless few teams participate, in which case the all-play-all system is used.

Seven editions took place so far, most of which have shown decent level with participation of some Arab IMs and FMs (rated up to 2450) and occasional appearances of some top players like Dutch GM Tiviakov or the Russian GM Kobalia. Egyptian teams have dominated the championship recent years taking three consecutive titles from 2003 until 2006.




missing data