Asian Indoor Games history

1st Asian Indoor Games logoThe Asian Indoor Games is a multi-sport event held every two years among athletes representing countries from Asia. The games are regulated by the Olympic Council of Asia. The first games were held in 2005 in Bangkok, Thailand.

This Games will be composed of sports with TV broadcasting potential and not included in the Asian Games and Winter Asian Games Programs and are not Olympic sports. The sports program will consist of six to eight exciting sports with strong television appeal, including electronic sports, extreme sports, aerobics, acrobatics, indoor athletics, dance sports, futsal, inline hockey, fin swimming, and 25 metres short course swimming.

The second games took place in 2007 in Macau. Chess was part of the games for the first time. China won classical time control team event was well as blitz competition, while India took rapid time control crown. Men's blitz title was taken by GM Sasikiran (India) and GM Zhu Chen (Qatar) in men's and women's competition respectively.




missing data